It’s been awhile. But do know that the last few weeks or so that I’ve been absent from this blog have not been from naught. Indeed, much has been accomplished.

Tentatively, I am no longer a free agent. Last week, I accepted an offer from the McAllen Monitor to be a general assignment sports reporter/designer. I say “tentatively” because it’s not yet official; my drug test and background evaluation still have to be complete. but I do have a start date of Aug. 28 set. Interestingly enough, I’ve always held The Monitor in high regard. I have known McAllen very well over the last decade and counting, as my aunt and uncle – and now my brother – all work and reside there, so I grew up reading The Monitor’s sports section whenever we visited them. It was an impressive section then, complete in its purpose. It seems no stone is left unturned.

Aside from that, I’ve been finishing up some reading as well. Thursday, I finally wrapped up Jack McCallum’s “Dream Team,” which is worth all the accolades and hoopla that’s been sent its way since its July release. I found the book insightful. It doesn’t read too long – maybe around 330 pages or so – but it is packed with information and new material about, in my opinion, the greatest team ever assembled. Most importantly, the book offers much needed perspective. All you have to do is turn on ESPN and hear the stupid debate about whether the Dream Team could beat the 2012 USA team. It’s ridiculous, and just further proof of how short our memories are. This year’s USA team couldn’t even hold a candle to the 1996 USA team, let alone the ’92 version. And that ’96 team had plenty of issues of its own, as McCallum points out toward the end of his book.

Along the lines of reading, as I leave this post, let me offer some worthy material for your own enjoyment. I promise you won’t be disappointed;

– Grantland.com’s Jonah Keri, who has become my favorite baseball writer, has a neat piece on Felix Hernandez’s perfect game from Wednesday here.

– SI.com’s Andy Staples takes a look at the copycat process going on across college football, as Alabama’s Nick Saban apparently holds the gold standard for the game today. Read it here.

– SI.com’s Thomas Lake has a compelling open letter asking Michael Jordan why he hasn’t come to the aid of his former high school coach, whom Jordan has incorrectly called him out time and time again for “cutting” him. Read it here.

– Via ESPN.com, a Texas Pee Wee youth football league bars a 300-pound player. It’s here.

 

 

 

Leave a comment